The Regional Intergovernmental Council (RIC) was established in 1968 as a voluntary organization of local elected municipal and county officials in Boone, Clay, Kanawha and Putnam counties. It was the first regional planning and development council in the State of West Virginia. The purpose of the RIC was to address regional issues and promote intergovernmental cooperation.

The West Virginia Legislature enacted the West Virginia Regional Planning and Development Act in 1971. This act divided the state into eleven regions, each of which serves as a development district for its respective member counties. The goal of the act was to more effectively utilize the State’s resources and to maximize the opportunities for local communities and public service agencies to secure federal assistance for economic development and infrastructure. 

Regional Intergovernmental Council 315 D Street, South Charleston, WV 25303

Connect With Us

Skip to content